How to fight against email Phishing scams-Part 2

This is a continued post on “How to fight against email Phishing scams.” If you would like to read that post first, please click here.

Trying to stay safe against email Phishing is a tricky process. But it all comes down to user awareness. For example, not long ago, I myself wasn’t sure how to distinguish bad links in emails. I didn’t know bad links redirect you to a fake website. Therefore, I learned about it in a hard way.

My Story with fake links:

It was 2 months ago that I received an email saying “Your bank has temporarily suspended your account due to a suspicious activity. Please click here to view the report.” What a fool I was? I clicked on the link without noticing that the domain name I was clicking on, is not even from my bank. It spelled like this:

report
By the way, this is just an example link NOT real.

How is this not a legit link?

The domain name above looks legit except there’s 2 little issues with it.

  • First, my bank’s web URL wouldn’t have sub-domains like report.YourBank.com if there is a page for reports, the domain may look like this:

    goodreport
    The report would be a page, not a site and shouldn’t be the actual domain name.

  • Second, the online connections between account holders and banks are most likely a secure connection and for that, the address bar should say afadf. “s” standing for secure to represent that the connection is secure. The picture below is an example of secure connection with YouTube.

secure connection example

This picture below is an example but the URL looked like similar to this:

fortune   <- By the way this wasn’t from Fortune.com But you can see the i symbol and that indicates that this is not a secure connection between you and the server hosting the site. So you have to be really careful with these.

How did I find out I am not in right place?

The Phishing attacker who redirected me to the fake bank web page forgot to design the page all in English. I noticed a foreign language text at the footer. Another thing I have learned so far is that you must really pay attention to the links you click on to see where it’s coming from. There are links out there that are hidden from your eyes. For example, you may click on something that says “Click here to go to YouTube.”

Hidden Links:

But if you hover over the link, you see that the link it actually say go to some other fake website at the bottom of google Chrome’s web browser.

fake URLs

 

Leave a Reply

